week 221-222

Happy New Year.

There’s something refreshing about the idea of starting over with a clean slate. Except, every January involves me trying to finish up as many projects from the previous year. And I have many.

 

I’ve made some progress on the oversized pullover I’m making with the Red Heart’s Unforgettable Yarn in parrot. I’m not sure I’ll be done with the amount that can be seen at the top of the photo.

The shoulder seams aren’t joined and still need to add the rest of the bottom before adding the second colour.

progress on pullover using Red Heart yarn

And, an up close of the stitches for the pullover.

I originally was trying to do a basic spike stitch but instead of using the front loop and going to the one below, it’s back loop and going into a stitch on a lower row. It’s an alternate of hdc/htc and making that spike. It’s colourful and the colours sometimes abruptly end which is I like.

upclose progress on pullover

 

I got bored one night and used up some nail polish to paint with. The pink blob in the middle completely throws it off and looks awful. I’m not sure what I can add to even it out.

quick painting with nail polishes

 

Was quite surprised to get a really pretty yarn bowl for Christmas and just showing it off. I wish I knew the one who made it but obviously my sister-in-law won’t tell me who she bought it from.

yarn bowl in various yarns

 

I don’t think I’ve shared this before but these are the crystals I’m crushing, to turn into pigment. So far, only one has been problematic to turn into powder, because of its hardness. Yes, it’s not exactly free of toxins and a lot of them are much paler than I expected, but the end result will still be worth it.

I’m not exactly so awesome I could charge the crystals with good energy but whoever ends up with the painting (or paintings, depending on how much paint I end up having), I can promise I’m in a good mood while creating.

In a sense, every piece of art, whether it’s a tv show or the glass you see in some doors or whatever that’s been created, some essence of the creator is a part of the end result. We’re constantly leaving behind pieces of ourselves, whether it’s obvious or not.

crystals and containers

 

I cut out the alphabet from the tissue box and was almost worried I would be one letter less because the letter N was a pain in the butt because I kept doing it backwards.

I want to use these letters and for each letter, make something to represent that letter. One of my friends is having a baby in May but I want to make a book for her and her kid out of the end result.

alphabet made from tissue box cardboard

 

It took me five seconds of staring at the nail polish painting and figured out what it needed.nail polish painting

I turned the pink blob into another head and so it’s three ambiguous heads looking outward, into maybe water. There’s no name for it, as of this moment.

Leave a comment